My Cart (0) Items
Cart total: £0.00
Fast delivery on all orders
Need some help? Call us now +44(0)20 7223 3757
Get discounts on orders over £75 more info
Home > CD


Various - Step Forward Youth: Roots Masters From The "Punky Reggae Party" (Greensleeves) 2xCD

Various - Step Forward Youth: Roots Masters From The "Punky Reggae Party" (Greensleeves) 2xCD
Bookmark and Share
Track Listing / Description Excellent two CD set from Greensleeves in celebration of the "punky reggae party" cultural clash that occurred in 1977 when the two seven's clashed and The Clash... er, clashed.  The punk explosion of that year impacted heavily on the white youths of the day who finally had a riot of their own, a musical riot triggered by the rise of the Sex Pistols that manifested in dozens of groups formed by spotty young white persons raging against the musical and sociological stagnation that they felt left them high and dry.  One or two of the leading lights in the Punk scene; Johnny Rotten especially, were reggae fans, Rotten appearing that year on the Tommy Vance show on London's Capital Radio playing some of his favourite tunes which included a number of deep roots cuts amongst the selection.  His friend Don Letts of course as deejay at the premier Punk club The Roxy famously running roots reggae before the Punk bands came on, mainly because at that time there wasn't much else to play, reasoning with his next friend Bob Marley on the righteousness or not of the punks which of course led to Bob's Punky Reggae Party.  The Clash also joined the fray, impressed by the militant reaction to police oppression the group witnessed at the Notting Hill Carnival in 1976, the event that inspired White Riot, the group exploring the theme further with White Man In Hammersmith Palais, a Linda McCartney (yes, that Linda McCartney) photo of the poster of said event included in this CD's packaging.  Here, the compilers collect thirty-six examples of the kind of reggae music that the punks would have heard in those days. Not sure how much punk infiltrated the reggae scene of the day though.  Very little I would say,  Some great tunes here though.

Track Listing:

Disc 1

1. King Tubby Meets Rockers Uptown - Augustus Pablo
2. Mafia - Lloyd Parks
3. A Noisy Place - I Roy
4. Turn The Heater On - Keith Hudson
5. Fade Away - Junior Byles
6. None Shall Escape Dub – The Aggrovators
7. The Barber Feel It - Dr Alimantado & Jah Stitch
8. Jah Is I Guiding Star –Tappa Zukie
9. Cokane In My Brain – Dillinger
10. Police and Thieves - Junior Murvin
11. Ballistic Affair - Leroy Smart
12. War - Wailing Souls & Ranking Trevor
13. Heavy Manners - Prince Far I
14. Police And Youth In The Grove – Have Sound Will Travel
15. Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner – Michael Rose
16. Roast Fish & Cornbread - Lee Perry
17. Three Piece Suit – Trinity
18. Three Piece Chicken & Chips - Ranking Trevor

Disc 2

1. Rebel - Barry Ford Band
2. Three Babylon – Aswad
3. Two Sevens Clash – Culture
4. Mr Cop - Gregory Isaacs
5. Point Blank Observer Style - I Roy
6. Beat Them In Dub – The Aggrovators
7. Cool Runnings - Prince Mohammed
8. Hole In The Bucket - Nigger Kojak and Liza
9. Equal Rights Style - Dennis Brown & Big Youth
10. Pablo Meets Mr Bassie - Augustus Pablo
11. The Black Star Liner – Reggae Regular
12. UK Skanking - Capital Letters
13. Ku Klux Klan - Steel Pusle
14. Cool Out Son - Junior Murvin
15. Pistol Boy - Militant Barry
16. Zion Gate - Horace Andy & Jah Stitch
17. Drunken Master - Ranking Joe
18. Good Memories – Prince Jazzbo

Price £12.00 All prices include VAT
Sorry, this item is currently out of stock.
World Wide Delivery Available
View delivery options
UK & Ireland
  • First Class
  • Recorded Delivery
  • Next Day Recorded Delivery
Europe / Rest of the world
  • Royal Mail International Signed For
  • Orders over 2kg sent by Interparcel online courier (

R.O.W. Customers please note: We are always conscious of the cost of shipping your order. It is cheaper to ship packages overseas through Royal Mail International Signed For than via an alternative courier and with this in mind we will send orders over this weight as two separate packages and refund any excess back to the customer

Get discounts on orders over £75.00
Customer reviews

Write an online review and share your thoughts with other shoppers!

Be the first to review this product
Dub Vendor Blog
Here you will find information on forthcoming releases and other news.
Read more
Dub Vendor Archive
Here we present items of interest from our past and reggae memorabilia.
Read more
Fashion Records
For 35 years, Dub Vendor Records has had a peerless reputation as the place for reggae fans to obtain the hottest and very latest Jamaican imports
Read more
back to top
Get exclusive discounts and news Join our mailing list today!
Current offers and discounts