My Record Bag (0) Items
Cart total: £0.00
Fast delivery on all orders
Home > CD


Various - Different Fashion: The High Note Dancehall Collection (Doctor Bird) 2xCD

Track Listing / Description

By the time the strident sound of original dancehall came to dominate the Jamaican music scene at the close of the Seventies, Sonia Pottinger had long been established as one of the island’s most influential figures. Since first making her mark as a producer of note in the mid-Sixties, she had remained at the forefront of the fiercely competitive industry, effortlessly adapting to changing musical styles.
Her ability to keep her finger firmly on the musical pulse is impressively reflected with this set, which gathers the very best of her output during the golden age of dancehall. Included on this essential collection are popular works by some of Jamaica’s finest talents of the era, with the island’s top sessions crews, the Revolutionaries and the Roots Radics the chief musical accompanists.
Yet despite the high quality of all of the recordings, every recording on this compilation appears on CD for the very first time, with 11 of the 33 tracks previously unreleased!

Track Listing:

Disc One:

1. Bobby Ellis & The Revolutionaries - Stormy Weather  (12” MIX)*
2.  Archie & Lyn - Rat In The Centre
3. Errol Scorcher - Tan Tudy
4. Jah Thomas - Come Nurse
5. Carl & Gibby - Road Block
6. Papa Ritchie - Phantom In The Jungle
7. Ranchie McLean - Tommy
8. Errol Scorcher - Roach In The Corner  (12” MIX)
9. Ansle Collins - Bim
10. Enest Wilson - Give The People What They Want
11. Michael Palmer
12. Jah Thomas - Road Code
13. Tony Tuff - Round The World  (12” MIX)*
14. Papa Ritchie - Annie Palmer  (12” MIX)*
15. Errol Scorcher - Water Bumpee
16. Sonya Spence - Talk Love  (12” MIX)*

1. Bobby Ellis & Ranking Joe - Shank I Sheck Eye Gal  (12” MIX)*
2. Errol Scorcher - Sounds Of Hon. Marley
3. Lee Van Cleef - Different Fashion
4. Zara - Financial Problem
5. Tony Tuff - Oppresser
6. The Enchanters - Whole Lot Of Loving
7. Jah Thomas - A Little Bit Of Love
8. Errol Scorcher - Rucumbine Girl  (12” MIX)*
9. Marcia Griffiths - Don't Ever Leave*
10. Gladstone Anderson & The Star Band - Free Base
11. Papa Ritchie - Westmooreland Flood
12. Delroy Wilson - Let's Unite  (12” MIX)*
13. Errol Scorcher - Peace Truce
14. Tony Tuff - Little Miss Mary  (12” MIX)*
15. Ranking Joe - General
16. Lorna Bennett - It's My House  (12” MIX)
17. Jah Thomas - Tell Me The Truth* 

* Previously unreleased

Price £14.00(inc. VAT)
£11.67 (ex. VAT)
All prices include VAT
World Wide Delivery Available
View delivery options
UK & Ireland
  • First Class
  • Recorded Delivery
  • Next Day Recorded Delivery
Europe / Rest of the world
  • Royal Mail International Signed For
  • Orders over 2kg sent by Interparcel online courier (

R.O.W. Customers please note: We are always conscious of the cost of shipping your order. It is cheaper to ship packages overseas through Royal Mail International Signed For than via an alternative courier and with this in mind we will send orders over this weight as two separate packages and refund any excess back to the customer

Get discounts on orders over £75.00
Customer reviews

Write an online review and share your thoughts with other shoppers!

Be the first to review this product
Dub Vendor Blog
Here you will find information on forthcoming releases and other news.
Read more
Dub Vendor Archive
Here we present items of interest from our past and reggae memorabilia.
Read more
Fashion Records
For 35 years, Dub Vendor Records has had a peerless reputation as the place for reggae fans to obtain the hottest and very latest Jamaican imports
Read more
back to top
Get exclusive discounts and news Join our mailing list today!
Current offers and discounts