My Cart (0) Items
Cart total: £0.00
Fast delivery on all orders
Need some help? Call us now +44(0)20 7223 3757
Get discounts on orders over £75 more info
Home > CD


Uniques - Absolutely The... Uniques (Doctor Bird) CD

Uniques - Absolutely The... Uniques (Doctor Bird) CD
Bookmark and Share
Track Listing / Description Great repackage of the classic Uniques collection, this time expanded by the inclusion of twelve Bonus Tracks.  The rocksteady period which began as the ska that had ruled Jamaican sounds since the early sixties started to fade circa 1966 / 67 heralded a Golden Age for tri-part harmony groups and expressive solo vocalists. Groups such as the Gaylads, The Wailers, Heptones, Sensations and many others flourished as the frantic rhythms of ska slowed into the smoother, more melodic and soulful style of rocksteady.  Among these were the Uniques, who included the voices of Lloyd Charmers aka Lloyd Tyrell, Jimmy Riley and the great Keith 'Slim' Smith.  In Smith, who tragically died in 1972, the group possessed arguably the greatest voice of the era, while Charmers and Riley were no slouches either.  Originally released by Trojan Records in 1968, this album, amazingly, has never been reissued in its original form before, although the group have had several compilations released over the years, sometimes credited to the Uniques, and sometimes to Slim alone, who, like his colleagues in then group, maintained a solo career recording for Bunny Lee, Prince Buster.  The tracks here originally appeared as singles on Winston Lowe's Tramp label, and have been subsequently reissued by Bunny Lee over the past few decades, and are amongst the finest examples of the rocksteady form.  Watch This Sound, Out Of Love, My Conversation, Gypsy Woman, all are absolute classics, with Slim Smith's voice able to describe soul as moving as anything out of the USA.  

Track List: 

1. Run Come  
2. Watch This Sound  
3. Just a Mirage  
4. Out of Love  
5. A Yuh  
6. Speak No Evil  
7. Standing In  
8. My Conversation  
9. You'll Lose a Precious Love  
10. That's the Way (Love Is)  
11. Gypsy Woman  
12. Freedom Song
13. Follow This Sound  
14. My Woman's Love  
15. My Lover's Prayer  
16. Cooyah  
17. What a Situation  
18. Forever  
19. I'm Going to Make You Love Me  
20. Crimson and Clover  
21. We've Only Got One Life  
22. My Rhya  
23. Love and Devotion  
24. Freedom Sound  

Price £13.00inc. VAT 10.83ex. VAT) All prices include VAT
World Wide Delivery Available
View delivery options
UK & Ireland
  • First Class
  • Recorded Delivery
  • Next Day Recorded Delivery
Europe / Rest of the world
  • Royal Mail International Signed For
  • Orders over 2kg sent by Interparcel online courier (

R.O.W. Customers please note: We are always conscious of the cost of shipping your order. It is cheaper to ship packages overseas through Royal Mail International Signed For than via an alternative courier and with this in mind we will send orders over this weight as two separate packages and refund any excess back to the customer

Get discounts on orders over £75.00
Customer reviews

Write an online review and share your thoughts with other shoppers!

Be the first to review this product
Dub Vendor Blog
Here you will find information on forthcoming releases and other news.
Read more
Dub Vendor Archive
Here we present items of interest from our past and reggae memorabilia.
Read more
Fashion Records
For 35 years, Dub Vendor Records has had a peerless reputation as the place for reggae fans to obtain the hottest and very latest Jamaican imports
Read more
back to top
Get exclusive discounts and news Join our mailing list today!
Current offers and discounts