My Record Bag (0) Items
Cart total: £0.00
Fast delivery on all orders
Home > Accessories, Books, DVDs

Accessories, Books, DVDs

Reggae Going International 1967-1976: The Bunny 'Striker' Lee Story by Noel Hawks & Jah Floyd - Book

Track Listing / Description

Published by Jamaican Recordings and written by Noel Hawks and Jah Floyd, this is an excellent book, outlining the life and considerable influence of Edward O'Sullivan Lee aka Bunny Lee aka Striker on the evolution of Jamaican popular music.  Lee is one of the most important figures in the music, beginning as a "plugger" in the sixties, promoting locally produced records to the big radio stations in Kingston, before becoming a record producer himself around the turn of the decade, he dominated the scene in the seventies hitting big early on with hugely popular records such as Bangarang by Lester Stirling & Stranger Cole, Slim Smith's My Conversation, Max Romeo's Wet Dream, Eric Donaldson's Cherry Oh Baby and many, many more.  Handily, the book comes with a 22 track CD containing these tracks and others.  Not bad for a man who never owned his own studio, but who saw the potential for reggae music worldwide back in the late sixties and encouraged others in the music to think big for themselves.

CD Track Listing:

1. Roy Shirley - Music Field
2. Slim Smith & The Uniques - My Conversation
3. Val Bennett - The Russians Are Coming
4. Max Romeo - Wet Dream
5. Lester Sterling & Stranger Cole - Bangarang
6. Pat Kelly - How Long
7. Roland Alphons - One Thousand Tons Of Megaton
8. Bob Marley - Mr. Chatterbox
9. John Holt - Stick By Me
10. Eric Donaldson - Cherry Oh Baby
11. Delroy Wilson - Better Must Come
12. Alton Ellis - Play It Cool
13. Leroy Smart - God Helps The Man
14. Horace Andy - You Are My Angel
15. Johnny Clarke - None Shall Escape The Judgement
16. Cornell Campbell - A Dance In Greenwich Farm
17. The Aggrovators - A Noise Place
18. The Aggrovators - A Ruffer Version
19. U Roy & Jeff Barnes - Wake The Nation
20. Dennis AlCapone - Cassius Clay
21. I Roy - Straight To Derrick Morgan's Head
22. Jah Stitch - Strickly Rockers


Price £17.00 All prices include VAT
World Wide Delivery Available
View delivery options
UK & Ireland
  • First Class
  • Recorded Delivery
  • Next Day Recorded Delivery
Europe / Rest of the world
  • Royal Mail International Signed For
  • Orders over 2kg sent by Interparcel online courier (

R.O.W. Customers please note: We are always conscious of the cost of shipping your order. It is cheaper to ship packages overseas through Royal Mail International Signed For than via an alternative courier and with this in mind we will send orders over this weight as two separate packages and refund any excess back to the customer

Get discounts on orders over £75.00
Customer reviews

Write an online review and share your thoughts with other shoppers!

Be the first to review this product
Dub Vendor Blog
Here you will find information on forthcoming releases and other news.
Read more
Dub Vendor Archive
Here we present items of interest from our past and reggae memorabilia.
Read more
Fashion Records
For 35 years, Dub Vendor Records has had a peerless reputation as the place for reggae fans to obtain the hottest and very latest Jamaican imports
Read more
back to top
Get exclusive discounts and news Join our mailing list today!
Current offers and discounts