My Record Bag (0) Items
Cart total: £0.00
Fast delivery on all orders
Home > Vinyl


Creole and China-frica - Journey From Creation 1975-1985 (China-frica / DKR 2xLP

Track Listing / Description

A major release from New York's redoubtable Digikiller crew centred around Wayne Chin's forward thinking Creole / China-frica project.  We'll let the DKR boy's themselves take up the story:

"As a personal project more than anything else, DKR naturally began with a very small ‘bucket list’, a handful of release ideas, most accurately described as misty ‘what ifs’ calling from the bottom of the endless well that is Jamaican music. A trio of these ideas were centered around artists that I thought should have had albums, but didn’t. I wanted to know why they never did, and then, I wanted to make those albums. Inherent to this pursuit was the hope that in doing so, along the way I might learn about them and find some more, unheard music from these artists.

Needless to say, Creole and Chinafrica was one of these. Since you’re reading this now, you know this hope was not in vain. Creole has both a mythic and misty status among serious roots reggae heads. We know their legendary tracks, the dubplates they spawned and the cover versions that came later. But who is Creole? Who is Wayne Chin? Is Wayne Chin Creole? Is it one guy? A group? Something else? Digging into Creole's handful of lesser known records didn't reveal much more, but only raised a few more questions. I thought about these things a bunch, and by the time I learned about Wayne's next project, Chinafrica, I started to put the pieces together. But ideas, wish lists and ambitions always come easier than the doing. So it took me quite a long time but finally I came around to wanting to try and answer all the questions, and in doing so, make this project a reality.

What I found in doing this was that both Creole AND Chinafrica were complete bands, in the way of a rock band rather than in the way "bands" are more often loosely conceived, credited and ever shifting in Jamaican music. Further, I found that both groups, spear headed by writer and lead vocalist Wayne Chin, were driven by his idea of bringing a reggae group beyond the aesthetic confines of the genre and toward the epic visual & theatrical aspects of soul groups like Earth, Wind and Fire and even hard rock bands like Kiss. Likewise, the music of both of Wayne's groups would also take influence from these other styles. Further, and maybe most surprising to learn was that Creole and Chinafrica both had members who went on to become well known players and producers in reggae, while their earlier work in these groups was widely unknown.

So to bring all of this, and more so their fantastic music to new light, we put together this 2LP collecting the vocals & dubs of nearly all of Creole's output and likewise nearly all of the music of the first iteration of Chinafrica (see our 12" single releases from both groups for the rest). For the record, Chinafrica went on to make some more great music in the 1990's, which is not included here. Also, we went deep into the band members' archives to dig out as many photos and flyers as we could for the jacket, accompanied by a detailed rundown of their histories and musical output. Creole and Chinafrica each created a small but fantastic body of music that does a rare thing. Much of the music on this album successfully blends elements of different genres of music in an interesting way. It's firmly planted in reggae, but straddles the borders of soul, funk and rock in brilliant, complimentary moves. I dare say in Jamaican music, you will be hard pressed to find an easy comparison to the music of these two groups.

Please enjoy this collection of Wayne Chin and the guys’ unique and uncompromising vision of reggae music, much as we have enjoyed realizing it and shining a long overdue spotlight on their history and creativity. A sincere thanks to Wayne Chin and all the members of Creole and Chinafrica who indulged me and enthusiastically took part in one of my dream projects, it's a honor to finally present this release.

Side A:

1. Jah Creation 
2. Tourism 
3. I Don't Know  
4. Moving Away 
5. Skylarking 
6. Beware 

Side B: 

1. I Am A Rootsman 
2. You Made Me Happy 
3. Troubled World 
4. Come Let Me Love ya 
5. Destruction 
6. I Wonder 

Side C:

1. Jah Creation Version 
2. Tourism Version 
3. I Don't Know Version 
4. Moving Away Version 
5. Skylarking Version 
6. Beware Version 

Side D: 

1. Old Hope Road
2. You Made Me Happy Version 
3. Troubled World Version 
4. Come Let Me Love Ya Version 
5. Mx Missile Dub 
6. Wondering Dub 

Price £38.00(inc. VAT)
£31.67 (ex. VAT)
All prices include VAT
World Wide Delivery Available
View delivery options
UK & Ireland
  • First Class
  • Recorded Delivery
  • Next Day Recorded Delivery
Europe / Rest of the world
  • Royal Mail International Signed For
  • Orders over 2kg sent by Interparcel online courier (

R.O.W. Customers please note: We are always conscious of the cost of shipping your order. It is cheaper to ship packages overseas through Royal Mail International Signed For than via an alternative courier and with this in mind we will send orders over this weight as two separate packages and refund any excess back to the customer

Get discounts on orders over £75.00
Customer reviews

Write an online review and share your thoughts with other shoppers!

Be the first to review this product
Dub Vendor Blog
Here you will find information on forthcoming releases and other news.
Read more
Dub Vendor Archive
Here we present items of interest from our past and reggae memorabilia.
Read more
Fashion Records
For 35 years, Dub Vendor Records has had a peerless reputation as the place for reggae fans to obtain the hottest and very latest Jamaican imports
Read more
back to top
Get exclusive discounts and news Join our mailing list today!
Current offers and discounts