My Cart (0) Items
Cart total: £0.00
Fast delivery on all orders
Need some help? Call us now +44(0)20 7223 3757
Get discounts on orders over £75 more info
Home > CD


Congos - Heart of the Congos (VP / 17 North Parade) 3xCD

Congos - Heart of the Congos (VP / 17 North Parade) 3xCD
Bookmark and Share
Track Listing / Description Lee Perry’s flawed classic 1977 Black Ark album, created during a time of emotional and spiritual upheavel for its overseer and later rewarded with rejection by Island records at the time who baulked at the condition of the master tapes Perry delivered to them, Heart Of The Congos has endured several different releases, two different sounding issues out of Jamaica, an issue on The Beat’s Go Feet label in the early eighties, VP’s own standard issue and Blood & Fire’s grand reconfiguration some years ago. This new revamped release features the original Black Art mix, some copies complete with the famous yellow stripes painted on the sleeve by Jah Wise, the guy who painted Horsemouth's motorbike petrol tank in the Rockers film. Brilliantly, this current release also has yellow stripes painted onto the sleeves of both the LP and CD issues!  It also features the alternative mix Perry issued soon after.  These are supplemented by a third disc that collects various non-album singles, 12" mixes and version sides from the singles lifted from the album.  The voices of Cedric Myton, Roy Johnson and sometime member Watty Burnett weave and soar around and about each other in an unearthly manner that suggests religious ecstasy as Perry, approaching the height of his musical mania, pours on the magic like some wigged-out Phil Spector. Nothing else sounds like it, and it can draw you into its spell until you have ears for nothing else.  

Track listing:

Disc One:

1. Fisherman
2. Congoman
3. Open Up The Gate
4. Children Crying
5. La La Bam-Bam
6. Can't Come In
7. Sodom and Gomorrow
8. The Wrong Thing
9. Ark of the Covenant
10. Solid Foundation

Disc Two:

1. Don't Blame It On I
2. At the Feast
3. Neckodeemus
4. Solid Foundation (Disco Cork Mix)
5. Foundation Dub
6. Congoman (12" Mix)
7. Congoman Chant
8. Bring the Mackaback
9. Fisherman Dub
10. Noah Sugar Pan

Disc Three

1. Fisherman (Original Mix)
2. Congoman (Original Mix)
3. Open Up The Gate (Original Mix)
4. Children Crying (Original Mix)
5. La La Bam-Bam (Original Mix)
6. Can't Come In (Original Mix)
7. Sodom and Gomorrow (Original Mix)
8. The Wrong Thing (Original Mix)
9. Ark of the Covenant (Original Mix)
10. Solid Foundation (Original Mix)

Price £17.00 All prices include VAT
World Wide Delivery Available
View delivery options
UK & Ireland
  • First Class
  • Recorded Delivery
  • Next Day Recorded Delivery
Europe / Rest of the world
  • Royal Mail International Signed For
  • Orders over 2kg sent by Interparcel online courier (

R.O.W. Customers please note: We are always conscious of the cost of shipping your order. It is cheaper to ship packages overseas through Royal Mail International Signed For than via an alternative courier and with this in mind we will send orders over this weight as two separate packages and refund any excess back to the customer

Get discounts on orders over £75.00
Customer reviews

Write an online review and share your thoughts with other shoppers!

Be the first to review this product
Dub Vendor Blog
Here you will find information on forthcoming releases and other news.
Read more
Dub Vendor Archive
Here we present items of interest from our past and reggae memorabilia.
Read more
Fashion Records
For 35 years, Dub Vendor Records has had a peerless reputation as the place for reggae fans to obtain the hottest and very latest Jamaican imports
Read more
back to top
Get exclusive discounts and news Join our mailing list today!
Current offers and discounts