My Record Bag (0) Items
Cart total: £0.00
Fast delivery on all orders
Home > CD


Brent Dowe & The Melodians - Build Me Up & Pre-Meditation (Doctor Bird) 2xCD

Track Listing / Description

Having made his name on the Jamaican music scene in the ’60s as an accomplished singer-songwriter with leading Jamaican vocal trio, The Melodians, Brent Dowe became one of the island’s leading soloists, notching up a series of best-selling 7” singles for producer, Sonia Pottinger.  In 1973, the best of his work to date was gathered for his debut album, ‘Build Me Up’, a best seller both in Jamaica and the UK, where an expanded version of the collection was released by Trojan Records.  This classic collection finally sees re-issue after 47 years, with its original track-listing enhanced by the remainder of Dowe’s work for Sonia Pottinger’s High Note label, with their number including some of the biggest reggae hits from the ’70s, many of which have remained unavailable on any format for decades.
The second disc of this 2CD set comprises the 1978 album, ‘Pre-Meditation’, which features a dozen Sonia Pottinger-produced tracks performed by Dowe and his fellow Melodians, Tony Brevett and Trevor McNaughton. Now expanded to include the rest of their High Note recordings, the collection demonstrates why Dowe and his famed trio are today widely regarded as being among the finest talents to have made their mark on the Jamaican music scene during its golden age.

Track Listing:


1. Build Me Up
2. I’m Gonna Love You
3. Close To You
4. Don’t Give Up
5. Love Is A Hurting Thing
6. You Can Tell The World
7. A Little Bit Of Love
8. Ungrateful Baby
9. Without Me
10. Something You Don’t Have
11. Any Heart Can Be Broken
12. Heartbreaking Love
13. No Sweeter Way
14. Share The Good Times
15. Two Sides To Every Story
16. The News Is Out
17. Making A Way
18. Little Blue Bird
19. Girl I’ve Got A Date
20. Tonight
21. Babylon Policy
22. Forward Up
23. Dance Pon Yah Corner
24. It Cool


1. Don’t Get Weary
2. Little Nut Tree
3. Swing And Dine 4 No Ga Long So
5. Love One Another
6. Better Days Are Coming
7. Dry Up Yuh Tears
8. I’m Gonna Fall In Love
9. Give Me Some Way To Love
10. Survival Is The Game
11. Black Man Kingdom Come
12. Heartaches
13. No Nola
14. I’ll Take You Where The Music’s Playing
15. Down In The Garden
16. I Could Be A King
17. Good Thing
18. It’s All In The Family
19. You Are My Only Love
20. Lock Love Away
21. Lonely
22. Sweet City Woman
23. Your Destiny
24. Melodians Medley

Price £13.00(inc. VAT)
£10.83 (ex. VAT)
All prices include VAT
World Wide Delivery Available
View delivery options
UK & Ireland
  • First Class
  • Recorded Delivery
  • Next Day Recorded Delivery
Europe / Rest of the world
  • Royal Mail International Signed For
  • Orders over 2kg sent by Interparcel online courier (

R.O.W. Customers please note: We are always conscious of the cost of shipping your order. It is cheaper to ship packages overseas through Royal Mail International Signed For than via an alternative courier and with this in mind we will send orders over this weight as two separate packages and refund any excess back to the customer

Get discounts on orders over £75.00
Customer reviews

Write an online review and share your thoughts with other shoppers!

Be the first to review this product
Dub Vendor Blog
Here you will find information on forthcoming releases and other news.
Read more
Dub Vendor Archive
Here we present items of interest from our past and reggae memorabilia.
Read more
Fashion Records
For 35 years, Dub Vendor Records has had a peerless reputation as the place for reggae fans to obtain the hottest and very latest Jamaican imports
Read more
back to top
Get exclusive discounts and news Join our mailing list today!
Current offers and discounts