My Record Bag (0) Items
Cart total: £0.00
Fast delivery on all orders
Home > CD


Black Uhuru - Black Sounds Of Freedom (Greensleeves) 2xCD

Track Listing / Description

Black Uhuru are justly celebrated for the classic material they cut with Sly & Robbie during the early eighties, when Puma Jones had replaced Errol Nelson in the line-up. The group had been in existence in one form or another since the early seventies, but it wasn’t until Duckie Simpson recruited the rebellious Michael ‘Toney’ Rose circa 1976 that the group really hit their stride. They took their new songs to Prince Jammy, then employed as an engineer at King Tubby’s Studio who was impressed enough to take them to Harry J’s studio to record them with the Aggrovators, Sly, Robbie, Chinna and crew to record a set of songs that were eventually released in 1977 as Love Crisis in the UK on Count Shelly’s Third World label. Greensleeves released a remixed and overdubbed version of the album in 1981 as the group broke big with Sly & Robbie’s groundbreaking productions, Jammy’s issued a dubwise version of the album shortly after. Greensleeves have now repackaged all three albums on this double CD along with four titles from deejay U Black, using Uhuru backing tracks. The booklet can even be reversed to depict the original Third World Love Crisis album or the original Greensleeves cover. The ultimate package. GRE2051

Track listing:

Disc One:
Black Sounds Of Freedom
1. I Love King Selassie
2. Satan Army Band
3. Time To Unite
4. Natural Mystic
5. Eden Out Deh
6. Love Crisis
7. African Love
8. Hard Ground
9. Willow Tree
10. Sorry For The Man
Prince Jammy – Uhuru In Dub
11. Eden Dub
12. Mystic Mix
13. His Imperial Majesty
14. Weeping Willow
15. Bad Girls Dub
16. Tonight Is The Night
17. Firehouse Special
18. African Culture
19. Crisis Dub
20. Sound Man Style

Disc Two:
Love Crisis
1. Crisis For Love
2. Satan Army Band
3. Tonight Is The Night To Unite
4. Eden Out Deh
5. Sorry For The Man
6. Love You Girl – U Black
7. I Love King Selassie
8. King Of All Time – U Black
9. Natural Mystic
10. Hard Ground
11. Crocodile Style – U Black
12. African Love
13. Ride Into Zion – U Black
14. Willow Tree

Price £15.00(inc. VAT)
£12.50 (ex. VAT)
All prices include VAT
Sorry, this item is currently out of stock.
World Wide Delivery Available
View delivery options
UK & Ireland
  • First Class
  • Recorded Delivery
  • Next Day Recorded Delivery
Europe / Rest of the world
  • Royal Mail International Signed For
  • Orders over 2kg sent by Interparcel online courier (

R.O.W. Customers please note: We are always conscious of the cost of shipping your order. It is cheaper to ship packages overseas through Royal Mail International Signed For than via an alternative courier and with this in mind we will send orders over this weight as two separate packages and refund any excess back to the customer

Get discounts on orders over £75.00
Customer reviews

Write an online review and share your thoughts with other shoppers!

Be the first to review this product
Dub Vendor Blog
Here you will find information on forthcoming releases and other news.
Read more
Dub Vendor Archive
Here we present items of interest from our past and reggae memorabilia.
Read more
Fashion Records
For 35 years, Dub Vendor Records has had a peerless reputation as the place for reggae fans to obtain the hottest and very latest Jamaican imports
Read more
back to top
Get exclusive discounts and news Join our mailing list today!
Current offers and discounts